Article Image Alt Text

Mathews talks history of Rotary fellowship award

POCAHONTASPocahontas Rotary Club President Erin Mathews spoke to local Rotarians about the history of the Paul Harris Fellowship Award during last Wednesday’s (Feb. 20) weekly Rotary meeting held at Beverly’s Catering.

The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation. Mathews noted that Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advance Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.

Mathews said the first Pocahontas Rotarian to receive the award was E.C. Cox in 1981, which was the first year the Pocahontas Rotary gave out the Paul Harris Fellowship. She noted that current member John Jackson is the longest-standing member to have received the award. Jackson had received the award in April 1991. She said the latest recipients to receive the award were Ben DeClerk and Jake Foster and the first local woman to receive it was Andee Evers.


To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition


The Star Herald


PO BOX 608

Pocahontas, AR. 72455